Blogger’s block

19 Nov

I have decided to take the plunge and write a post after a few months of non-activity. Why haven’t I blogged in so long? It hasn’t been because of lack of time. So was it writer’s block?  Laziness? Blog apathy? Heaven only knows.

I guess I will dip my toe in the sea, so to speak by writing about a little bit of my day today.

Was woken up by phone ringing, and a quick look at the caller ID revealed a strange number starting with +390. It was a friend calling from Darfur, Sudan.  Apparently they are experiencing “winter” in Darfur too.  Temperatures have fallen massively and it’s now only 30 degrees. Centigrade.

Talk about rubbing my face in it… Did we even hit 30 degrees here in London on the hottest day of summer?

However, after taking a quick look at some news items about Darfur, I immediately realized that I have nothing to complain about. The region has been embroiled in conflict since 2003, with many lives lost and others destroyed by violence and displacement. Am so glad my friend is out there doing his bit to help.

One task that I had to deal with pronto upon getting up was to change the password to my email account. Over the weekend I became a victim of a Trojan horse type email. I apparently emailed everyone in my contact list with a “check this out…” type email, asking them to click on a link about some money-making scheme. I have had to change my password and if you have received such an email from me, please note that I did not send it. Do not open the link.

The good thing to come out of this is that some people that I haven’t spoken to in months, years even, are now getting in touch, and some were even enquiring whether I was sending the email from the Maldives as I enjoyed my new-found wealth, and how generous I was to want to share, blah blah blah…. Oh, how I wish.

As lunchtime approached, had a fierce internal debate on whether to cook something or go out and buy something. It took me two hours to make a decision on this simple matter.  Yes, I know, and I am worried too…. Not a good sign at all.

Then tried watching ‘Murder She Wrote’ but Ms. Fletcher has lost her appeal somehow. Oh but I used to love that show! I guess I have had my fill of murder cases. Now I have to discover something else to watch on afternoon TV.

At least I have my zumba class to look forward too….

2 Responses to “Blogger’s block”

  1. Geoff November 19, 2012 at 6:11 pm #

    If you aren’t too sure what to cook lunch, come to my house and cook I know exactly what I want to eat😀

Leave a comment